CCGM Holds Annual Meeting of Members

On Wednesday, October 7, 2015, the Chamber of Commerce of Greater Milford held their annual meeting of members at Grotto Pizza in Milford. The purpose of the meeting was to elect new officers and approve bylaw changes that were added recently.

“We had three members whose terms end December 31, 2015,” said Angela Dorey, President. “These three board members have served two terms and must step down from the board with replacements voted in by the membership.” The three board members whose two-year term ends at the end of 2015 include Ruth Abbate of Delaware Electric Signal, Angela Dorey of Dorey Insurance and Financial Services, and Deanna Smith of Artisan’s Bank.

By unanimous vote, Dave Hitchens of First State Manufacturing, Cory Fetterman of David L. C. Fetterman Insurance Inc. and Brad Fielder of Dover Federal Credit Union will replace the outgoing members of the board of directors.

In addition, Cheryl Doucette of the Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition, Alicia Hollis of Kent-Sussex Industries, Christine Rust of M&T Bank, James Sharp of Moore & Rutt P.A. and Craig Warrington of Milford School District were re-elected to their positions on the board for their second terms. Board members with first terms expiring as of December 31, 2016 include Michael Ashton of Bayhealth Medical Center, Bruce Johnston of Burgers & Beans, Heather Pleasants of Heritage of Milford, while Terri Favata of Coldwell Banker Resort Realty’s second term will expire on that date.

Darel LaPrade of the Milford Chronicle and Cindy Small of Kent County Tourism will have first year terms that expire on December 31, 2017 while Luanne Holland of Delaware Hospice will have her second term expire on that date.

Bylaw changes that were approved at the meeting included a change to the number of members required to be on the board of directors. Instead of a set number, the bylaws will now allow a range between 10 and 18 members. In addition, the new bylaws will allow proxy votes. All changes to the bylaws were approved unanimously.